Skip to main content
The Eberly College Of Science

Science Achievement Graduate Fellows

In 2018, the Eberly College of Science started a new scholars program, namely the Science Achievement Graduate Fellows Program, designed to recruit, recognize and promote outstanding graduate students seeking a doctoral degree in the sciences and mathematics. Our college is determined and committed to promoting women, who are underrepresented in the sciences and mathematics, as a matter of urgency to enable the full potential of humankind essential to solving the great global challenges.

The Millennium Science Building at the University Park Campus.

The Science Achievement Graduate Fellows program provides support packages that include graduate scholarships, available to each of the seven Eberly Science department graduate programs, and named after women scientists who are recognized as having achieved profound and lasting contributions to their fields:

  • Cecilia Payne-Gaposchkin Science Achievement Graduate Scholarship in Astronomy
  • Barbara McClintock Science Achievement Graduate Scholarship in Biology
  • Rosalind E. Franklin Science Achievement Graduate Scholarship in BMB
  • Marie Sklodowska Curie Science Achievement Graduate Scholarship in Chemistry
  • Maryam Mirzakhani Science Achievement Graduate Scholarship in Mathematics
  • Mildred Dresselhaus Science Achievement Graduate Scholarship in Physics
  • Janet L. Norwood Science Achievement Graduate Scholarship in Statistics


These prestigious scholarships are unique in STEM and provide a high level of recognition to the awardees, which will continue throughout their careers.

Picture a Scientist image illustration researchers from around the Eberly College of Scientist.
Picture a Scientist Week

Celebrating diversity and equity in the STEM fields.

Image of Sreenidhi Srinivasan for the SAGF landing page. Two block quick link component.

In addition to providing graduate scholarships, the program sponsors annually two distinguished lectures in the college in honor of the women for whom the graduate scholarships are named. These lectures rotate among the seven departments. The invited lectures will be given by women who are currently prominent in their respective fields. The current scholarship holders select the lecturers and act as hosts for the lecture.

SAGF Lectures