Skip to main content
Center for Excellence in Science Education

Awards and Fellows

Teaching Innovation Awards—Funds Available, Open for New Projects

The Teaching Innovation Awards provide an opportunity for instructors in the college to request support to accomplish innovative ideas for their science and math courses and programs.

Projects might include adoption of new pedagogies; design of new materials, modules, technology, or assessments; using/trying tools and interventions for improving student success; science education research design/study; development of a new course, and more!

Applications are accepted on a rolling basis and evaluated three times each year.

Deadline to apply: April 15, 2023.

Link to Application: Teaching Innovation Awards 


Project Title: I Study Black Holes Too
Fellows: Ana Matković
Department: Astronomy and Astrophysics

Project Title:  Impact of a two-semester CURE on Change of Campus Students
Fellow: Emily Bell
Department: Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

Project Title:  Development of CHEM 210B & Implementation of Specifications Grading
Fellow:  Joe Houck
Department: Chemistry

Project Title: Redesign of STAT 460 to STAT 360
Fellow: Pat Buchanan
Department: Statistics

Project Title: Development of CHEM 111 FRI
Fellow: Angela Bischof
Department: Chemistry

Project Title: Hybrid Version of Math 140B/141B
Fellows: Russ deForest and Michael Steward
Department: Mathematics

Project Title: Student Led Projects in PHYS 402
Fellows: Stephanie Wissel
Department: Physics

Project Title: PChem Math Foundation Modules
Fellows: Linlin Jensen
Department: Chemistry


Martarano Leadership Fellows

The Martarano Leadership Fellows Program (formerly known as the Tombros Fellows Program) is intended to provide professional development opportunities for faculty in the Eberly College of Science.

The professional development programs supported by this fund are to broaden faculty members' perspectives and experiences in academic leadership, gain insight into the management of the Eberly College of Science, and/or have the opportunity to develop new programs.

Fellowship Recipients

Project Title: Amplifying Active Learning Strategies in Calculus Through Focus in Metacognition and Two Generative Processing Strategies
Fellows: Dr. Eric Simring, Dr. Andrew Baxter, & Amine Benkiran
Department: Mathematics

Project Title: Comprehensive Assessment of Learning Outcomes for the Undergraduate Statistics Major
Fellow: Dr. Matthew Beckman
Department: Statistics

Project Title: Developing “CHEM 110H: Constructing Molecular Models” An Experiment-First Freshman Chemistry Course
Fellow: Dr. Philip Bevilacqua
Department: Chemistry

Project Title: Fast Farming: An Integrated Undergraduate Science Education and Research Program for Sustainable Agriculture at Penn State
Fellow: Dr. Charles T. Anderson
Department: Biology

Project Title: Revamp STAT 250: Introduction to Biostatistics
Fellow: Dr. Kari Lock-Morgan
Department: Statistics

(Office of Digital Learning Fellow)

Project Title: Online Introductory Physics with Active Hands-on Laboratories
Fellow: Dr. Louis Leblond
Department: Physics

Project Title: Development of tools to encourage the growth and effective use of the Learning Assistant (LA) program across Eberly College and specifically within the BMB Department
Fellow: Dr. Meredith Defelice
Department: Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

Project Title: Infusing Physics Education Research (PER) in the Introductory Physics Course Sequence
Fellow: Dr. Steven Van Hook
Department: Physics

Project Title: Integrating Research and Learning
Fellows: Dr. Ken Keiler & Dr. Sarah Ades
Department: Biochemistry & Molecular Biology