Skip to main content

Penn State Emeritus Academy welcomes four Eberly College of Science Distinguished Spring 2024 Inductees

15 April 2024

The Penn State Emeritus Academy has announced the induction of 16 distinguished faculty members into its prestigious ranks this Spring, 2024. These esteemed individuals have demonstrated exemplary dedication to academia, research, creative work, and the Penn State community throughout their illustrious careers.

The new inductees represent a wide range of disciplines, underscoring the diverse academic excellence that Penn State is known for. Their careers have not only contributed significantly to their fields but have also enriched the educational experiences of countless students.

The Eberly College of Science Spring 2024 inductees into the Penn State Emeritus Academy are:

  • Abhay Ashtekar, Atherton Professor and Evan Pugh Professor Emeritus of Physics
  • James G. Ferry, Stanley Person Professor Emeritus of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • Ross C. Hardison, T. Ming Chu Professor Emeritus of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • Nicholas Winograd, Evan Pugh University Professor Emeritus of Chemistry

The Penn State Emeritus Academy is dedicated to fostering a vibrant community of retired faculty who continue contributing to the University's mission through mentoring, teaching, and research. The academy provides a platform for members to engage in intellectual and creative activities that contribute to the Penn State community and beyond. Academy members hold the title of "Academy Professor."

"The University extends its heartfelt congratulations to all the newly inducted members," said Ann Clements, assistant vice provost for Faculty Affairs. "Their legacies and ongoing contributions continue to make Penn State a leader in higher education."

For more information about the Penn State Emeritus Academy and its members, visit the Office of the Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs website.