Skip to main content
Nittany Lion Shrine

Three from Eberly College of Science honored with 2023 Alumni Fellow Award

19 September 2023

The Penn State Alumni Association will honor 13 Penn Staters—3 from the Eberly College of Science—with the 2023 Alumni Fellow Award, the most prestigious award given by the Alumni Association. A ceremony to honor their achievements will be held on Sept. 20 at the State Theatre in downtown State College.

This year’s recipients from the Eberly College of Science are Judd Moul '79, Jane Rigby '00, and Dean Winslow '74.

Judd Moul

Judd Moul

Judd W. Moul is the James H. Semans MD Professor of Surgery at Duke University Medical Center in the Urologic Surgery Division and the Duke Cancer Institute. He is a retired colonel from the United States Army Medical Corps and was the director of the Center for Prostate Disease Research at Walter Reed Army Medical Center. Moul’s clinical practice focuses on broad aspects of prostate cancer and prostate disease. He is a noted authority on prostate cancer in African-American men, biochemical recurrence of prostate cancer, prostate specific antigen (PSA) testing, nerve-sparing radical prostatectomy and prostate screening biomarkers.

Moul served as the Division Chief of Urology at Duke from 2004 through 2011. During this time, the program was continuously ranked in the top 10 nationally by US News and World Report and Moul reestablished Duke Pediatric Urology and a research year for residents, initiated a collaboration with the Department of Defense to train an Army urologist each year and established the Duke Prostate Center. He also was the first urologist in the history of Duke to be awarded a named endowed chair in 2009. During Moul’s era as Chief, over 50% of graduating residents chose careers in academic medicine and many are now rising stars in their respective programs.

Moul is committed to training residents and mentoring students and trainees. He and his wife Ellen (PSU H&HD ’81) endowed a scholarship in the Penn State Eberly College of Science to support undergraduate students pursuing a career in the medical field.

Jane Rigby

Jane Rigby

Jane R. Rigby is a NASA astrophysicist who serves as the Senior Project Scientist for NASA’s Webb Telescope (JWST), the most powerful telescope ever built. Rigby is one of the leaders of the team that commissioned the Webb telescope and led the characterization of initial science performance. She briefed the President and Vice President of the United States on the first Webb science images in July of 2022.

Rigby’s research focuses on how galaxies evolve over cosmic time, by using the techniques of diagnostic spectroscopy and gravitational lensing. She has published more than 140 peer-reviewed scientific papers, is the Principal Investigator of the TEMPLATES JWST Early Release Science program, and is an active user of the JWST, Hubble, Spitzer, Chandra, Keck and Magellan observatories. Rigby was named to’s list of 10 individuals who shaped science in 2022, and to the BBC’s list of 100 inspiring and influential women for 2022. Additionally, she received NASA’s Exceptional Scientific Achievement Medal in 2022.

Before coming to NASA, Rigby was a Spitzer Fellow and Carnegie Fellow at the Carnegie Observatories; she holds Ph.D. and M.S. degrees in Astronomy from the University of Arizona, and B.S. degrees in Physics and Astronomy from Penn State.

While a student at Penn State, Rigby served as president of the Astronomy Club, co-founded the outreach event AstroFest, was a member of the club field hockey team, and was a Schreyer Honors College student. Rigby is a proud champion for LGBTQ inclusion.

Dean Winslow

Dean Winslow wearing military camoflague

Dean L. Winslow is a professor of medicine with appointments in the Divisions of Hospital Medicine and Infectious Diseases at the Stanford University School of Medicine.

Winslow graduated from the Eberly College of Science in 1974 with high distinction. In 2021, Winslow took leave from Stanford to lead the US COVID-19 Testing and Diagnostic Working Group. He served as CDC Senior Advisor to Operation ALLIES WELCOME and Chief Medical Officer for the Southwest Border Migrant Health Task Force before returning to Stanford in July 2022. Earlier in his career, he started the first multidisciplinary clinic for HIV patients in Delaware and pioneered advancements in HIV treatment research.

Winslow served as a flight surgeon in the US Air Force for 35 years and deployed twice to Afghanistan and four times to Iraq after 9/11, supporting combat operations. In 2005, Winslow coordinated military public health in Louisiana in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina. In 2006, he served as an ER physician at the United States Air Force combat hospital in Baghdad and in 2008, he served as hospital commander during the Iraq surge.

Since 2006, Winslow has arranged medical care in the U.S. for 28 Iraqi children who have complicated medical conditions. In 2015, Winslow and his wife, Dr. Julie Parsonnet, created The Eagle Fund of the Silicon Valley Community Foundation, which provides aid to middle eastern and central American refugees. In 2018, he co-founded Scrubs Addressing the Firearms Epidemic (SAFE), which unites health care professionals to address gun violence.

About the Alumni Fellow Award

The Alumni Fellow program is administered by the Penn State Alumni Association in cooperation with the University’s academic colleges, campuses and the Office of the President.  

Alumni are nominated by a college or campus as leaders in their professional fields and accept an invitation from the president of the University to return to campus to share their expertise with students, faculty and administrators.

Visit the Alumni Association’s website for more information on this year's honorees and the award.