Skip to main content
Eberly Science

Members of the American Academy
of Arts and Sciences

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of the nation's most prestigious honorary societies, also is a leading center for independent policy research. Members contribute to Academy publications and studies of science and technology policy, energy and global security, social policy and American institutions, the humanities and culture, and education.


  • 2018: Andrew Read, Evan Pugh Professor of Biology and Entomology
  • 2017: Squire Booker, Evan Pugh University Professor of Chemistry and of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • 2012 : Sharon Hammes-Schiffer, professor of chemistry and the Eberly Professor of Biotechnology
  • 2010: Péter Mészáros, Holder of the Eberly Family Chair of Astronomy and Astrophysics and Professor of Physics
  • 2009: Thomas Mallouk, Evan Pugh Professor and DuPont Professor of Materials Chemistry and Physics
  • 2008: Jainendra Jain, Erwin Mueller Professor of Physics
  • 2005: Gerald Mahan, Distinguished Professor of Physics
  • 2004: Moses Chan, Evan Pugh Professor of Physics; Anatole Katok, Shibley Professor of Mathematics
  • 1998: A. Welford Castleman, Evan Pugh Professor of Chemistry and Physics and the Eberly Family Distinguished Chair in Science
  • 1997: George Andrews, Evan Pugh Professor of Mathematics
  • 1996: Alan Walker, Evan Pugh Professor of Anthropology and Biology
  • 1990: Masatoshi Nei, Evan Pugh Professor of Biology (Emeritus)
  • 1989: Nina Fedoroff, Evan Pugh Professor of Biology; Willaman Profesor of Life Science (Emeritus)
  • 1984: Stephen Benkovic, Evan Pugh Professor of Chemistry and Eberly Family Chair in Chemistry
  • 1975: C.R. Rao, Emeritus Holder of the Eberly Family Chair in Statistics and director of the Center for Multivariate Analysis