Skip to main content
Undergraduate Chemistry

Awards involving nominations or applications

The Chemistry Department is endowed with a number of scholarships and awards specific to Chemistry majors. Students are selected for these awards based on nominations and/or applications, academic performance, and financial need. These scholarships typically range between $1,000 and $3,000 per year, with the amount increasing according to semester standing and GPA. Students are eligible for these awards once they have formally entered the major and are in good academic standing. 

The Benkovic Award provides financial support for undergraduates who are conducting outstanding unpaid summer research on campus under the direction of a faculty member.


Eligibility for application: Only undergraduates who are conducting research in chemistry at University Park during the summer of 2023 are eligible to apply.

How to Apply: Please submit an unofficial transcript and a one-page summary of your summer research plans to Rachel Weaver ( by March 15, 2023.

The John and Elizabeth Holmes Teas Scholarship is a scholarship that has been established to assist chemistry majors with tuition costs. Students are selected using the following criteria: outstanding academic achievement, ability, and chemistry interest.

The Chemistry Undergraduate Advising and Awards Committee will review all applications and select up to three (3) students as the upcoming academic year’s recipients.  Renewal awards will be granted if a recipient’s academic and professional performance remains at or above their level at the time of selection.


Eligibility for application: you must be a chemistry major (or intended),  have a GPA of 3.5 or higher, are a rising sophomore or a rising senior.

How to apply: To apply, please forward the following materials to Dr. Dan Sykes via e-mail ( by 12:00 PM (noon) April 30, 2021: a personal statement (including a reflection on your academic progress and a discussion of career goals), an unofficial transcript, and a letter of recommendation from a chemistry faculty member.

This award was created in memory of Peter Breen to recognize a Penn State undergraduate Chemistry major who has achieved excellence in academics and research. Peter was an undergraduate Chemistry major and a Schreyer Honors College student. He exemplified excellence both academics and in research. Peter passed away in 2014. The Breen family has generously established this award in his memory.


Eligibility for application: It is given out yearly to a junior or senior Chemistry major based on course work and research accomplishments.

How to Apply: Nomination by research Faculty Member

The Penn State Center of Excellence in Industrial Biotechnology is offering scholarship support for students interested in the broad area of industrial biotechnology, ranging from biopharmaceutical manufacturing and food biotechnology, to the production of bio-based chemicals. Two levels of scholarships are available: 

CSL Behring Innovation Scholarship $2,000 

CSL Behring Biotechnology Scholarship $1,000 

Learn more!

Undergraduate students enrolled or planning to enroll in the Department of Chemistry who have achieved superior academic records or who manifest promise of outstanding academic success, and who have demonstrated outstanding service to the Department of Chemistry. Preference shall be given to students transferring to University Park from a Penn State Commonwealth campus.

The Excellence in Service Award was created to acknowledge the contributions of undergraduate students in building the pillars of the department: academics, research, and service. The awardees are students who have dedicated themselves to their department, their profession, and their fellow students. The award recognizes service as Learning Assistants, Teaching Assistants, and service in general.

All undergraduate students enrolled or planning to enroll in the Eberly College of Science at Penn State University Park who have achieved superior academic records or who manifest promise of outstanding academic success and who are majoring in or planning to major in Chemistry, or successor degree program(s).


For any questions regarding departmental awards or scholarships please email Dr. Dan Sykes at