Skip to main content
Claire Kelling receives the 2019 Gertrude Cox Award
4 October 2019

The 2019 Gertrude Cox award is presented to Claire Kelling, for her extraordinary leadership and volunteerism in developing safe, supportive and educationally rich environments especially for girls and women, including participation in relevant state and national committees, for academic success in pursuit of a dual doctoral degree in Statistics and Social Data Analytics at Pennsylvania State University, and for promising independent research in spatial statistics related to criminology.

The award is presented at the WSS Annual Dinner, usually held in June, with the recipient delivering a talk on a topic of general interest to the WSS membership before the dinner.

This award is made possible by funding from RTI International, and the recipient is chosen by a six-person committee—three each from WSS and RTI.

The award includes a $1,000 honorarium, travel expenses to attend the WSS Annual Dinner, and a commemorative WSS plaque. Past recipients, in chronological order, include Sharon Lohr, Alan Zaslavsky, Tom Belin, Vance Berger, Francesca Domenici, Thomas Lumley, Jean Opsomer, Michael Elliott, Nilanjan Chatterjee, Amy Herring, Frauke Kreuter, Jerome Reiter, Jae Kwang Kim, Bhramar Mukherjee, and Elizabeth Stuart, and David Haziza.