Skip to main content
Climate and Diversity
Dean's Climate and Diversity Award

The Eberly College of Science Dean's Climate and Diversity Award was created in 2009.  These awards are designed to recognize individuals and programs that have displayed extraordinary commitment to enhancing our environment of mutual respect and diversity.  The awards are intended to highlight all members of the college community; undergraduate students, graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, staff members, faculty members, as well as programs within the college that are supportive and welcoming of all individuals within our college community. These awards allow us to share the success stories and celebrate the leadership and vision of individuals and programs.

The nomination process is simple and does not require any input from the nominee. Complete the online nomination form during the call for nomination dates. The Awards Selection Committee will review the nominations and select candidates for the Dean's Climate and Diversity Awards.


Award Criteria

Please read the award criteria before completing the online nomination form.


Online Nomination Form

Please submit your nominations using this form.

Nominations are due by Friday, December 6, 2019.


2019 Dean's Climate and Diversity Award Reception

The Dean's Climate and Diversity Award Reception will take place on Friday, January 31, 2020 at the Gateway to the Life Sciences. (The bridge between the Chemistry Building and the Huck Life Sciences building.)

Past Award Recipients


Sarah Lonsinger (Chemistry), Miriam Freedman (Chemistry), and Källan Berglund (Physics).

Climate and Diversity Awardees 2019


Kristin Dreyer, (Physics), Latisha Franklin (BMMB), and Eric Hudson (Physics).

Climate and Diversity Awardees 2018

2017 Award Winners2017

Randi Neshteruk (IGC & Physics)

Wendy Hanna-Rose (BMB)

Meridith Bartley (Statistics)

With Dean Doug Cavener


Melissa Rolls- (BMB)

Toward a More Inclusive Astronomy/ TaMIA- (ASTRO)

Jamie Arnold- (BMB)

2016 Award Winners


Steve Schaeffer- Biology

Starlette Sharp- Dean's Office

Physics and Astronomy for Women (PAW)

2015 Award Winners


Lilith Antinori- Graduate Student in Math

Nate Brown- Math

Stefanie Austin- Statistics

2014 Award Winners


Sara Jamshidi - Graduate Student in Math

Diane Henderson - Math

Laurie Dasher - Astronomy & Astrophysics

2013 Award Winners


Jasymn Trent - Undergraduate Student - Science Major

Michael Eracleous & Jason Wright - Astronomy

Jean Brooks - Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

2012 Award Winners


Craig Cameron - Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Matthew Crook - Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Mary Anne Raymond - Mathematics

Jennelle Malcos - Biology

Katriona Shea - Biology

Ashley DaSilva - Physics

Society of Physics Students - Physics

2011 Award Winners


Stephen Redman - Astronomy

Kathryn McClintock - Biology

Andrea Mastro - Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Nicole Hurlbutt - Dean's Office

Brian Dingee - Physics

Ronald Redwing - Physics

2010 Award Winners


Eric Patridge - Alumni

Stephanie Gookin - Biolgoy

Jacqueline Bortiatynski - Chemistry

Graduate Admission and Recruitment Team - Chemistry

Diane Henderson - Mathematics

Second Year Graduate Students - Physics

2009 Award Winners

Special Recognition of Service


Karin Foley - Associate Dean

Mercedes Richards - Astronomy

2010 Award Winners