Skip to main content
C.I. Noll Award for Excellence in Teaching

Exceptional instructors training the next generation of scientists

The C. I. Noll Award is presented annually to an outstanding faculty member within the Eberly College of Science. Nominations are accepted from alumni, faculty, and all students. Faculty may also nominate themselves or another faculty member. The award is designed to recognize a faculty member who has had a positive impact on students. One award will be given to a tenure-track faculty member and one award will be given to an instructional teaching faculty member or lecturer.

Nominations and questions may be sent to Lynne O'Cain, Office of Instruction and Curricula, at

Previous C.I. Noll Award Winners:

*The 2015 award was a split recognition for tenured-faculty.

Awards winners prior to 2007:

  • Adam Anthony
  • Andrew Belmonte
  • Leonid Beryland
  • Jane Cooper
  • James Fehlner
  • Charles Fisher
  • Richard Frisque
  • Raymond Funk
  • Charles Haas
  • Tom Hettmansperger
  • Nigel Higson
  • Charles Hillson
  • Theodore Hollis
  • Peter Jurs
  • Ronald Keiper
  • John Lowe
  • Mary McCammon
  • Robert Minard
  • Robert Mitchell
  • William Neff
  • Richard Obermyer
  • Roy Olofson
  • Mitch Price
  • Herman Richey
  • Richard Robinett
  • Donald Schneider
  • Stanley Shepherd
  • Patricia Shulte
  • Sharon Shriver
  • Philip Skell
  • James Strauss
  • Simon Tavener
  • C. Dale Therrien
  • Joseph Villafranca
  • C. Eugene Wayne
  • Daniel Weedman
  • Edward Wickersham
  • Thomas Wiggins