Home > About the College > Distinguished Honors and Awards > Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science

Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science

Main Content

Election as an American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Fellow is an honor bestowed by peers upon members of the AAAS, the world's largest general scientific society and the publisher of the journal Science. Below is a list of faculty members in the Eberly College of Science who have received this honor listed in reverse-chronological order by election year. Note: The listings reflect the title the faculty member held at the time of election to the AAAS.


  • Arthur Mallay Lesk, professor of biochemistry and molecular biology
  • Joseph C. Reese, professor of biochemistry and molecular
  • Song Tan, professor of biochemistry and molecular biology


  • Craig Eugene Cameron, Eberly Chair Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • Douglas R. Cavener, professor and head of biology
  • Andrea M. Mastro, professor of microbiology and cell biology
  • B. Franklin Pugh, Evan Pugh Professor and Willaman Chair in Molecular Biology
  • Teh-hui Kao, Distinguished Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • Christine Dolan Keating, professor of chemistry
  • Michael T. Green, associate professor of chemistry.


  • Ottar N. Bjørnstad, professor of entomology, biology, and statistics
  • Squire J. Booker, professor of chemistry and of biochemistry and molecular biology


  • Peter J. Hudson, Willaman Professor of Biology
  • Andrew F. Read, professor of biology and entomology and Alumni Professor in Biological Sciences
  • Nitin Samarth, professor of physics and the George A. and Margaret M. Downsbrough Head of the Department of Physics


  • Karl Mueller, professor of chemistry
  • Jainendra Jain, Erwin W. Mueller Professor of Physics
  • Mauricio Terrones, professor of physics


  • Joseph Martin Bollinger, professor of chemistry and biochemistry and molecular biology
  • Donald Bryant, Ernest C. Pollard Professor in Biotechnology and Professor of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
  • Hong Ma, Distinguished Professor of Biology


  • James Rosenberger, professor of statistics
  • Alexander Wolszczan, Evan Pugh Professor of Astronomy and Astrophysics


  • Sally Assmann, Waller Professor of Biology
  • Philip Bevilacqua, professor of chemistry
  • Barbara Garrison, Shapiro Professor of Chemistry
  • S. Blair Hedges, professor of biology


  • Abhay Ashtekar, Eberly Professor of Physics
  • Mark Maroncelli, professor of chemistry


  • Moses Chan, Evan Pugh Professor of Physics
  • Thomas Mallouk, Evan Pugh Professor of Materials Chemistry and Physics


  • Daniel J. Larson, Verne M. Willaman Dean
  • Ayusman Sen, Distinguished Professor of Chemistry


  • G. Jogesh Babu, professor of statistics


  • David Allara, Professor Emeritus of Materials Science and Chemistry


  • Daniel Cosgrove, professor and Holder of the Eberly Chair in Biology
  • Masatoshi Nei, Evan Pugh Professor of Biology


  • Stephen J. Benkovic, Evan Pugh Professor and Eberly Chair in Chemistry


  • Nicholas Winograd, Evan Pugh Professor of Chemistry


  • A. Welford. Castleman Jr., Evan Pugh Professor of Chemistry

Document Actions

Share this page: |